Schneider Trophy Victory – 80th Anniversary Celebration 13,14 Sept 2011

I am excited to highlight a special event which hopefully, weather permitting, will take place near Southampton and Portsmouth this week to celebrate:

80th Anniversary of the Schneider Trophy Victory

over the Solent in 1931

On 13th September 1931 the Supermarine  S.6 B  the S1595 made history as pilot Flt Lt Boothman won the Schneider Trophy in the circuit between Calshot, Ryde IOW and Gilkicker. The most prized trophy for amphibean aircraft was finally won outright for Britain.

The full programme is on The Lee Flying Association website.

I will be announcing a photo competition on Thursday so watch this space!

The fly past in honour of the brave pilots from early in the last century has been postponed until Wednesday 14th September 2011 when flying boats and sea planes will fly over Calshot, some even landing on the famous spit, if is is safe to do so.

postscript:  I was quoting ‘Schneider Trophy to Spitfire’ by John Shelton when I named the plane the S.6B but it has been pointed out to me that this should read the S6b

4 Comments

Filed under Flying Boats and Sea Planes, Schneider Trophy, Southampton, Supermarine, Weston Shore

4 responses to “Schneider Trophy Victory – 80th Anniversary Celebration 13,14 Sept 2011

  1. Who says S6b is correct?
    S.6B is the correct nomenclature – see Supermarine Aircraft since 1914 (Putnam) or Wikipedia if you don’t believe me.
    John Shelton

    • Great to hear from you John. Yes, I was thrilled to buy your book and now that my novel is out I will be reviewing ‘Schneider Trophy to Spitfire’ on my blog, if that’s ok with you. I am certainly more than happy to be put right if I make an error in my writing or in my blog. I am an enthusiast in the history of flying boats due to my family links with Supermarine in Woolston and it has led me on an unexpected journey of discovery. What I have learnt though, is not to believe everything I read on the internet. In fact, like yourself probably, I have a copy of the original 1931 programme and that clearly states ‘S.6B.’
      Many thanks for prompting me to recheck the facts and for clearing the matter up. (The problem may lie in that I am too willing to accept errors pointed out to me without double checking!)
      I hope your book sales are going well. It is an excellent volume which I bought down at Hendon. My aim in writing Ancasta ~ Guide me Swiftly Home was to highlight the period in Woolston’s history before the Spitfire, telling fiction within a framework of fact. Next year will, of course be a triple centenary!
      All the best
      Diana

      • john shelton

        Diana,
        Pleased you have my Schneider Trophy to Spitfire – I think the main thesis stands (the importance of the Trophy to the eventual appearance of the Spitfire) – but there is room for more material on the early Woolston days and this, among other things, will be in the new version, nearly finished.

        Thanks for the best wishes for the present book – sales getting up to 1800. As I’m retired*, royalties are less important than doing the best I can for RJM**.

        *retired a long time ago from Communication – hope the latter shows in what is a pretty technical book.
        **Also only too pleased to agree to your writing a review – the Amazon reviews were pretty o.k. – anything that gets more people appreciating the genius of RJM is welcome.

        Best wishes,
        John Shelton.

        p.s. Isn’t Hendon great? and n.b. four of RJ’s aircraft therein – especially the Southampton hull reconstruction!

      • I find the exhibit of small model aircraft from the Schneider planes right though to the various forms of the Spitfire in Solent Sky fascinating too and didn’t realise until I was looking at them again in the summer that there were Spitfire sea planes! Good to be in touch with you. RJM is mentioned in my book third party in conversation but I have included the air correspondent of the Mail, Harry Harper, one of my few actual characters in my novel. It would be interesting to know what you thought of it, although you might find the fact that it is a novel frustrating as a historian. All the best and thanks Diana

Leave a Reply

