The Guernsey Literary Potato Peel Pie Society – A personal book review

I enjoyed this little book so much I gave it away twice. They say what goes round come round because no sooner did I think that I wouldn’t see my copy again but my thoughtful brother in law sent me another one ‘because he knew I loved the Channel Islands.’

What did I like about it?

I felt instant empathy for the main characters, especially Elizabeth and Juliet. Their quirky way of looking at life and their sense of humour shone through the good times and bad. In fact the characterisation was lovely, albeit a little quaint. I’m not sure what islanders who went through the trauma of the occupation (including my Great Grandfather as it happens) and serious historians thought of the way in which the suffering experienced was taken in such a tongue in cheek, light hearted manner, but I’m sure, in reality, people’s sense of humour often saw them through the most traumatic times.

I liked the communication by letter. This meant that I could instantly feel drawn to several characters in different locations. A powerful tool to keep the story thread alive.

If I had any criticism it is that there was little description of the island and places I have come to know and love on Guernsey itself. Apart from that I can certainly say that it was a good read and I look forward to the film.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society

Leave a comment

Filed under Book reading, Book reviews, Channel Islands, Guernsey, Reading a novel

Leave a Reply

