What do ‘Licence to Kill’ and ‘Mamma Mia’ have to do with writing my Blog?

I watched two memorable films over the festive season and surprisingly enough both taught me something about my blog writing. How?

The first was a James Bond, ‘Licence to Kill’ and the second was ‘Mamma Mia’!

I’ll tell you why at the end of the post. Anyway they both certainly got me thinking.

A New Year brings new thinking and planning and since we had visitors into last week and were also coping with after Christmas illness, yesterday was the first time I really thought of my blog. It was beneficial to have a break from all this Social Media and recharge the batteries but it is also good to spend some time reflecting on what I am trying to achieve and think of the way forward.

Questions I asked myself:

1. Am I happy with the look of my blog?

Yes although I intend to change the picture in the spring to reflect my current writing projects.

2. Do I need to update my ‘About Diana Jackson Page’

Yes

3. Am I happy with the content of the posts?

I have been writing posts in themes and this has worked quite well, reflected in the clouds of tabs at the side. My topics range from book reviews, book shop reviews, family history, background to writing Riduna, Writing tips and posts about the Channel Islands. I would like a more consistent approach for the first couple of months in the year. I have likened it to the way I garden; a little haphazard, allowing surprises to flourish rather than have regimented, well organised flower beds. This approach may not be to everyone’s taste or be the most effective, but those who have visited and commented on posts have enjoyed them.

4. Do I need to do any more careful planning?

A big yes!

4. How effective do I think I am in reaching my target audience?

I’m not sure here. I am reaching an appropriate audience but am I reaching my potential. Probably not.

5. Having thought honestly about the above what am I going to do about it?

  • Be more consistent in my blog themes.
  • Plan more carefully.
  • Yes, have one off posts occasionally to reflect the moment but otherwise stick to the plan.
  • Start with a theme running through January and February.
  • Review at the end of February.

So back to those two films. I loved being lost in the sheer indulgence of unadulterated entertainment for entertainment’s sake. Pure fantasy! In ‘Mamma Mia’ what struck me most was how much the actors enjoyed themselves. Yes, it was corny and hats off to Pierce Brosnan for singing his own songs. (Yes James Bond in musical) But it left me with that ‘feel good’ factor. I want people to enjoy reading my work but I also want to enjoy writing the posts.

 In ‘Licence to Kill’ I was glued to the scene where James Bond fights with a sea plane pilot in mid air, (One day I’ll fly in one myself, maybe not so daredevil though!)  but the scene focussed my mind on the content for my next couple of months of blogs.

A tough act to follow but watch this space!

2 Comments

Filed under Blogs, Flying Boats and Sea Planes, Social Media Networking, Writing

2 responses to “What do ‘Licence to Kill’ and ‘Mamma Mia’ have to do with writing my Blog?

  1. I love Mamma Mia and I think, if anything, that’s what writing should be about – exuberance and fun! We started doing this because we wanted to write and we loved to write and I don’t think there is anything wrong in reflecting that.
    But this is the modern world, not only do we need to be writers we need to be able to do a bit of marketing too.

Leave a Reply

