Fairies in the Woods – another Alderney Tall Story!

Free Clip Art

I have this vivid memory of walking though a ‘fairy glen’ on one of my childhood visits to Alderney, of clambering down a steep narrow path into the undergrowth leading to a tiny stream with stepping stones in the leafy glen. Story has it that fairies visit this part of Alderney and I just had to include this in my book ‘Riduna’ even though my memories were only vague childish ones.

The strange thing is that this has prompted remarks from two islanders I have met recently and both have offered to take me for a fairy related walk. On the first occasion we walked down a narrow footpath and I felt a growing excitement as we neared the place of my memories. It hadn’t been a dream after all. Unfortunately the paths were so steep and muddy and we did not have suitable footwear for scrambling right into the glen, but we have promised to take a walk there again on our next visit.

On my last visit to Alderney another kind lady took me along a different path, one which was unfamiliar to me, but at one point she hinted that I should look closely around me. Sure enough there was a fairy hidden in the branches of a tree, so well camouflaged that it was difficult to spot at first.

I’m not going to tell you where it was though. That would spoil the fun for others but if you are off the beaten track on the island of Alderney, don’t forget to look closely around you. You might be surprised as to what you might see lurking there!

ps I made a New Year’s Resolution to keep to my carefully thought out blog plan this year but by the beginning of February I found myself flitting in different directions. I’m afraid that’s my way, but I promise I will return to flying facts next week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Alderney, Channel Islands, History of Alderney, Riduna

Leave a Reply

