Are you Receiving Me? – Do you need to worry about generating comments?

Of course I enjoy people taking the trouble to comment on my blog but, just because there are none left on the actual blog post each time, I am still cheered by the way people respond in other ways and other factors:

  1. Statistics – Now that I am using Hootsuite to schedule tweets, (thanks to a member of my writer’s group for letting me know about that gem!) each post is read by between at least 50 to 100 people, sometimes many more. It’s great that WordPress gives me all of this information.
  2. Many people just like to tweet a response. That’s brilliant because their comments come to my email so that I can respond when I am next on Twitter.
  3. Others find it easier to comment on Facebook. That’s lovely too, because I put all of my posts on my Diana Jackson’s Author page on Facebook and it’s like a running time line of activity.
  4. Then of course I get emails too if someone has a particular comment to make for my eyes only like the author who responded when I left a blog saying that their book was one of my favourite books of all times. It was a thrill to hear from him! Then there have been several people who have let me know how they found my blog via a Google search. That’s fantastic to know. Their remarks are treasured even more because someone has made an effort to get in touch.

So am I right not to get worried about getting comments actually on my blog?

Should I do something about the fact that the ratio of comments left per post is only 1 in 3?

I don’t really think so because as long as there are people out there enjoying what I write and I still gain pleasure in writing posts  then it continues to be a positive channel to release my thoughts and hone my skills as a writer.

What do you think?

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under Blogs, Facebook, Social Media Networking, Twitter, Writing

3 responses to “Are you Receiving Me? – Do you need to worry about generating comments?

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is an extremely well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

  2. I alternate between not worrying and thinking I’m blogging “wrong.” What you say is true, though, in that we get just as much comment love from social media. I know that there are people enjoying what I’ve posted when I see retweets in Twitter and shares on Facebook. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    • Yes Virginia. It’s so easy to lose heart but so long as we are enjoying writing and people think what we are doing is worthwhile, we need to just treasure the feedback we do get. Many thanks for stopping by Diana 🙂

Leave a Reply

