Life Sans Internet ~ The Tribulations of Launching an Novel Without the Internet

When I was thinking about this blog William Shakespeare’s seven ages of man came to mind.

“All the world’s a stage,

And all the men and women merely players:

They have their exits and their entrances;

And one man in his time plays many parts,

His acts being seven ages……………

………….Last scene of all,

That ends this strange eventful history,

Is second childishness and mere oblivion,

Sans teeth, sans eyes, sans taste, sans everything”

In the two weeks leading up to the launch of Ancasta I certainly felt like a player in a story, where obstacles placed on my path seemed insurmountable. The first major one was my internet connection going down.

At first I was told that all would be well in 48 hours, but when that deadline passed and the rotating circle (I think it means wait) which usually comforted me that Google would spring to life on my screen, slowed down to such an excruciating pace that I could even go to make a cup of tea, (only the British will understand this one) come back and make a phone call before the screen, ‘This page is currently unavailable,’ dashed my hopes yet again.

In desperation I then discovered that I could gain access before 6.30am and sometimes late at night and so I embarked on a damage limitations course of action, where I answered vital emails, posted the occasional blog and made an on line presence spasmodically on Facebook and Twitter. I felt desperate. Talk about ‘Reactive’ rather than ‘Proactive!’

I tried to focus on ‘off line’ events including a Pre-launch special, which had its own distressing consequences (which I will refer to in my next blog), the timely arrival of my copies of both books, the actual launch on 7th July and other ‘live’ events through the summer.

I was relieved and excited when my copies of both Ancasta and Riduna arrived. There is nothing like the moment when you hold your creation gently in the palm of your hands, and gingerly flick through the pages. My novel was ‘born!’

Next I needed to forward publicity materials; posters, leaflets and bookmarks to various venues. I could certainly do that without the internet.

What a relief when last Saturday’s launch in Woolston and Bitterne was so enjoyable and I learnt a lesson that day, which was important to me. I find it a delight to meet real people.

I also learnt during those early morning and late night vigils on the net, how important it was to truly connect with people as (on line) friends. I found myself searching for a familiar ‘tweeter’ in order to have a meaningful exchange, albeit briefly.

Hootsuite helped. though, where I could schedule key tweets.

Now the internet is working again. What a relief!  In fact I now have wi fi and with a little notebook I’ve just invested in I have the luxury of having both on at the same time…. Just because I can.

To let you into a secret, with the wonder of technology this post is coming to you automatically by scheduling it, and I will be back home after a well needed break tomorrow.

Why, just when I needed the internet so vitally did it desert me? Who knows, but it taught me to value real relationships with people all the more.

Having said that, I feel that I now need a genuine ‘On Line Launch,’ and so, once I am back and settled it will begin. I have made such good ‘on line friends’ that I’m asking for your support.

I wonder if Will Shakespeare were alive in this technological age, how he would have changed his speech.

Can there be life Sans Internet?

Leave a comment

Filed under Ancasta, Marketing your novel, Talks

Leave a Reply

