Novels in Crime Week Day 3 ~ Colin Calvert

imageColin, thank you for agreeing to be a visitor on my blog. I expect you are excited that your debut novel

‘Born Again Bandits’ came out on Kindle yesterday published by Eventispress! Congratulations!

I know you have written plays for several years and that they have been acted on stages across the world. What gave you the initial inspiration to try your hand at writing a novel? 

I was motivated by the real case of a young mum who killed herself and her handicapped daughter after years of harassment in their home and failing to get support from the authorities. BAB floats a possible solution to this sort of low level but widespread crime – and mixes the social arguments with a fast moving plot involving murder, kidnap, espionage,and a car chase.

 
Gripping description! Did you find writing Born Again Bandits a very different experience to writing drama and, of course, why? 
 
Yes! Very different. All my published drama pieces are comedies. BAB has some lighter moments but is not a comedy. For me, plays are much easier – but I enjoyed the deeper aspects of writing a book which is a one-to-one thing.
 
A snappy title. Born Again Bandits! I like it. Can you explain to possible readers what it means without giving away the plot? Do they turn to religion or something like that?
The “Born Again” has no religious overtones, but is a punchy phrase and very relevant to the plot.
 

I think the most unusual character in your plot, and I have both read it and enjoyed Born Again Bandits, is Karen. She’s quite complex. Can you describe what you think of her without giving away too much?

I was very close to a “Karen” at one time. Very complex, very intelligent, very gifted – but with personality traits which made life difficult. You could equate her partly with Stieg Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander in some ways. More interesting to write about than a nice person!Available on Kindle
 

I know you’ve mentioned to me that you feel strongly that Born Again Bandits is more than an action packed thriller but has a social message. Is it possible to expand on that?

BAB suggests a radical way to reduce or eliminate crime and evil in human society and poses ethical and practical questions. Are draconian methods feasible in eliminating evil  just as smallpox was eliminated?

Do you think we will see more of Colin Calvert as an author in the future? Could Born Again Bandits turn into a series do you think?
 
Now BAB is done, I can see other plots involving Glenn and Karen. I think BAB is very filmic and would love to liaise with a screenwriter for film or TV! I also have other book ideas for books away from the BAB context.
 
Well Colin. Thank you again for being a guest on my blog today and I wish you every success with Born Again Bandits.
Leave a comment

Filed under Book reading, Book reviews, Events, Murder, Writing

Leave a Reply

