A Book Launch Celebration with a Difference!

Instead of my usual event inviting friends and family along to a book launch this year, like the cover competition, I’m doing things a bit differently. I’m having a stall at the Haynes 100, the village in Bedfordshire truly at the heart of my novel Murder, now and then’.

DSCN0164What is the Haynes 100?

Each year for the last eight years, at least 100 cars have driven to the village green in Haynes, but it is not just another classic and vintage car event. No! They try to have a vehicle – could be a camper-van or even one year there was a hearse – but it is usually a car, to representDSCN0158 each year for the last 100 years. My husband’s Old English Jaguar, which incidentally is also features in ‘Murder, now and then’, attends regularly. It may be the last year it features because, if he decided to retire, it may have to go, so we’ll enjoy it while we can.

I held a book stall last year selling ‘Ancasta ~ Guide me Swiftly Home’ and the Riduna series and there was much interest when I spoke to locals about my murder mystery, inspired by a true unsolved murder at Haynes Park army camp in 1919 just after the end of the Great War. It is always a most enjoyable occasion. Anyone is welcome to join, especially to wave on the parade as all the cars drive around the village. It’s quite spectacular.

Many take picnics although there are food and drink stalls available and even rides for children. It is a family occasion. If you come to admire the cars and watch the parade, do come and say hello to me at my table right next to the white Jag. The more the merrier!

Leave a comment

Filed under Events, Marketing your novel, Murder Now and Then, The Great War, WW1

Leave a Reply

