Riduna

Riduna by Diana Jackson

Historical Novel Society Review August 2010

“Riduna speaks volumes about the power of love and loss and is beautifully written with a fluidity that speaks to your soul. Author Diana Jackson’s ability to portray the everyday ordinary yet life-changing events of those in a community is amazing; you get a true feel of what it must have been like living in Riduna during that era. Fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will fall in love with Riduna.”

Diana writes:

Why is my novel called Riduna?

Riduna is the Latin name for the unique and picturesque island of Alderney, sister island to Guernsey Channel Islands, UK, known here as Sarnia. This island is a character in its own right, since for Harriet, born on Riduna in 1866, and many others in the community it is all they have known and wanted to know and yet for Edward, his head is full of dreams of faraway places and adventure. As their destiny is challenged will their devotion remain constant?

Do you ever feel that your raison d’être is threatened?

Have you ever loved someone so much that you have let them walk away?

Have you experienced displacement, daunted by moving away to somewhere unfamiliar, and yet deep within your heart is the very place you have left behind, a place you once dared to call home?

A twitter follower born on Alderney but now living in Canada once tweeted:

‘You can take the girl out of the island but you can’t take the island out of the girl.’

Riduna is available in paperback in the UK and on:

KindleUK         KindleUSA                        Barnes and Noble                               Kobo                                      Sony ebookstore

 

3 responses to “Riduna

  1. Pingback: Book Launch ~ Ancasta Guide me Swiftly Home on 7th July 2012 | Diana Jackson's Blog

  2. You might like to read some of the reviews Amazon took down from the original version of Riduna published by Pegasus Elliot Mc Kenzie:
    Riduna Review, 3 Jan 2010
    By Ms. D. Howells (London, UK) – See all my reviews

    A relative recommended this book, so I took it away on holiday. I quite like historical dramas and I have to say that this didn’t disappoint! The characters were so heartfelt and I cried so many times at the highs and lows that they experienced. It gave me an insight into how fickle the hand of fate can be and also how much we take life and love for granted in this day and age. The pace of the book was perfect, I could pick up the book and be swept away to another time and another life. The descriptions in the books are fantastic and when I found out that the authoress’s ancestor was the inspiration for the story, it made everything just jump off the page even more! I would definitely recommend this book, it was fab. I look forward to Ms Jackson’s next one!

  3. Some more of the reviews for Riduna now missing from Amazon:
    4**** Riduna, 16 Aug 2009
    By joannabee (bedfordshire) – See all my reviews

    I thoroughly enjoyed the book. The characters really came alive and I didn’t want to put the book down; I wanted to see what happened next. It is a lovely romantic story that brought tears to my eyes.

    I’m looking forward to Diana Jackson’s next book.
    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Report this | Permalink
    Comment

    5***** Riduna, 10 Aug 2009
    By Marcus Webb – See all my reviews

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The story was apparently inspired by the authoress’s great grandmother, who grew up in Alderney in Victorian times. There is a strong sense of place and time- it made me want to know more about Riduna (Alderney).

    We are gently drawn in to a world which was changing rapidly, and the stresses and strains of these societal changes are reflected in the characters’ development and in their relationships with each other. The conflict between insularity and adventurousness, between strict social and sexual codes on the one hand and human passion and desire for freedom on the other, are delicately expressed.

    The writer’s wisdom, compassion and perceptiveness shine through her writing.
    Genuine Alderney atmosphere, 31 Jul 2009
    By Mrs. E. McWilliams (Southampton, UK) – See all my reviews

    A touching and memorable storyline playing out in a unique setting. As a regular visitor to Alderney (Riduna) I got a thrill out of recognising familar places and being able to picture the characters in places I know well, as well as finding out a little more of the social history of the island. The writing style seemed a bit unpolished but the plot kept me reading and once I’d got about half way through I couldn’t put it down till I finished.
    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you? Report this | Permalink
    Comment

    5*****Mrs. E. McWilliams Southampton UK 5 star
    A touching and memorable storyline playing out in a unique setting. As a regular visitor to Alderney (Riduna) I got a thrill out of recognising familar places and being able to picture the characters in places I know well, as well as finding out a little more of the social history of the island. The writing style seemed a bit unpolished but the plot kept me reading and once I’d got about half way through I couldn’t put it down till I finished.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s