Tag Archives: The Swan Hotel Bedford

Clue – Go! Exciting News about a ‘Murder, Now and Then’ game with prizes

CLUE – GO!

CLUE GOMapIn conjunction with @LoveBedford and with the support of The Bedford Swan Hotel, this will be a game for readers of

‘Murder, Now and Then’

The novel features many locations of historical interest – hotels, pubs, and museums in and around the Bedfordshire area. The game will encourage you to get out and about in Bedfordshire during October 2015. Get your cameras at the ready!

There will be cash and voucher prizes to be won.

Not forgetting those in Canada, Jersey and on the beautiful less well-known island of Alderney where there will be e-prizes to be won

Full details to be announced next week!

6 Comments

Filed under Bedfordshire, Events, Marketing your novel, Murder Now and Then

‘Unsolved Case of Body in Wilstead Woods’ ~ Beds on Sunday Reporter writes …

I’m celebrating being featured in the Beds on Sunday local newspaper! Great article and I do appreciate their time, especially the photographer who was very patient with me, taking shots in various poses in The Swan Hotel, Bedford – in the library of course, in the lobby, up the staircase and out the back. The week had been a bit stressful and I had not had much sleep,  thus the photo in the paper is a bit severe – perhaps they wanted me to look serious and a bit frightening – spooky lighting maybe:

DSCN2418[1]

Beds on Sunday Feature

Their online version photo is much more flattering (when you are not too photogenic you can’t help being a bit over sensitive – hubby says ‘Don’t worry – You look fine in real life’ – charming!)

http://www.bedfordshire-news.co.uk/8203-Unsolved-case-body-Wilstead-woods-inspires/story-27472102-detail/story.html

What is all the fuss about. Well, if you have an hour or so to spare next Monday at 2 pm I will be at The Swan Hotel giving a talk ‘Murder in the Library‘ followed by cake and tea and a chance to have a chat and sign a few copies of ‘Murder, Now and Then‘. A very English happening in a charming English hotel. What are you waiting for? Here are the details:

Swan Murder Flyer

1 Comment

Filed under Bedfordshire, Book reading, Marketing your novel, Murder Now and Then, WW1

I’m happy to share my latest reviews and news ~ Exciting stuff!

There have been a lot of positive vibes on line in the last month about ‘Murder, Now and Then’.

Here are a few of the reviews:

Karen Dahood of www.bookpleasures.com

Many many thanks to Karen for that one, and she kindly mentioned it on her own blog too:

Are you a silver surfer? about one of my characters, Elizabeth.

Then Rose English gave the novel 3 roses, her highest accolade:

https://roseenglishukauthor.wordpress.com

Thanks Rose. I am most grateful.

Wow! I’ve reached Barnes and Noble.

and hushushbiz.com.

One I’ve already mentioned, but I’m really proud of is a five star review on

Reader’s Favorite

There are a few more on Amazon too!

… and finally an author I have enjoyed reading, MJ Moores on her Infinite Pathways.

Just to remind you, if you live in the Bedfordshire area I’m giving a talk in The Swan Hotel, Bedford, the posh one on theSwan Murder Flyer

bridge and Embankment. It is a beautiful setting for a talk ‘Murder in the Library’ at The Swan – tea and cake included in the £5 entry ~ excellent value ~ which needs to be booked.

Here’s a link to Love Bedford for more details, with whom I am indebted for arranging this exciting event, which starts at 2pm on 3rd August.

Why not make an afternoon of it and pop in and join me for lunch beforehand, in their wood panelled foyer?

Leave a comment

Filed under Book reviews, Marketing your novel, Murder Now and Then, Reading a novel