A startling discovery ~ First lines, tags and making a postive impact!

Do you make a ‘wow’ impression with your blog posts? Does the reader feel compelled to read more!Owl

I’ve just read my last post in my WordPress Reader just as you, the audience would read it and I was dismayed.

1. TAGS ~The first thing you read is the tags. Now, I’ve been working on using better tags with the help of JT Weaver but my tags for my last post read:

AUTHOR TALKS, BOOK SHOPS, BOOK SIGNINGS, DISAPPOINTMENTS, EVENTS, HIDDEN………

and that’s all you can see. Doesn’t the word DISAPPOINTMENT hit you. It doesn’t matter that MARKETING A NOVEL, SUCCESS, THINKING LATERALLY &WRITER’S PLATFORM all come afterwards because it’s only the first five in alphabetical order that show up on the screen.

2. FIRST SENTENCE

My first sentence goes on to say thank your for everyone who supported me. Yes, that’s a good thing to do but what does it say about the excellent content and advice for authors in the subsequent paragraphs? Nothing. Not only that, but it is all a person will read in their WordPress Reader to entice them to read more. Help! I’m going seriously awry here and must put some thought to first impressions.

3. FIRST IMPRESSIONS 

As above, but I don’t even have a picture or anything fun to encourage readers to read more and yet it was a post I spent a while crafting in order to help other writers and to give them encouragement.

So, if you want to go back and ignore my mistakes and read my thoughts on using events to market a novel click on here:

REVIEWING MY REWARDING BUT ROLLERCOASTER YEAR OF EVENTS ~ ADVICE TO AUTHORS

Have you any other advice? What else have you learnt from using WordPress effectively? Did you like my picture:-) ?

Leave a comment

Filed under Blogs, Events, Marketing your novel

Leave a Reply

