Author Talk a Resounding Success!

Well over thirty people attended my author talk last night in the small village of Clophill in mid Bedfordshire and they were certainly an enthusiastic and appreciative audience. Many had read ‘Murder, Now and Then’ prior to the evening, so it was a tricky balance to talk to them, as well as not to give too many details away to spoil the plot for the others. I sold a good few books too and much was raised for church funds, which was a major purpose of the evening.

As I tried to sleep last night and the adrenaline was still rushing through my body I began to evaluate ‘success.’ Yesterday evening was certainly a resounding success. You could have heard ‘a pin drop’ (if you’ll excuse the cliche) during the video, in the silence of the church. Here’s a link if you have not seen it before.

No one in the audience noticed the imaginary farmhouse superimposed on the countryside near Haynes Park, where the novel is set, not far from Clophill. It was a perfect introduction to the evening. People seemed genuinely interested in my local research and anecdotes about my writing life, asking pertinent questions – but no – I did not answer when asked what the murder weapon was!

It was a success in the way in which the event spread the word about my writing and to hear that copies had been bought and passed around. Isn’t that wonderful!  The comment was made almost apologetically and it made me evaluate why I write. As long as I continue to have that burning desire to write and that feedback from readers is positive, whether they read on Kindle or new, borrowed or second hand paperback or even from the library – I count that as a resounding success. Don’t you?

What do you think?What I love about evenings like that is not only sharing my own story but listening to theirs afterwards.

Anyway I’d certainly like to thank the Clophill folks for being so welcoming!

3 Comments

Filed under Bedfordshire, Events, Marketing your novel, Murder Now and Then

3 responses to “Author Talk a Resounding Success!

  1. I’ve just received an email which said: “It was my great pleasure! I know it may sound a bit stupid but I felt
    > very…proud…..
    >
    > It was such a nice evening and so many people commented on how
    > pleasant it was to come out for such an interesting talk.
    >>
    > The lady, who I was sitting next to said that it was the best one she had
    > been to and she found you very easy to listen to!
    >>
    > The lady who sat on my other side, was full of praise and was asking all
    > about the writer’s group as she had thought about writing about her
    > eccentric ancestors. I tried to encourage her as I think hers would
    > be quite a story!
    >>
    > Another lady was telling me that her book club had read MN&T at their
    > book club and had enjoyed it thoroughly, so I think that, just from
    > those people I spoke to, the evening was a resounding success.
    >>
    > I am certainly glad that I came out of my cave for the evening and I
    > have to say that I can’t wait to read the new book!”

    I’ve welled up at the accolade. It was so lovely for my friend to write these comments down and send them to me. Diana

  2. Congratulations on your success of the night. It must have felt very good!

Leave a Reply

